Football Preview - Game #2 at No. 5 North Central

Football Preview - Game #2 at No. 5 North Central

St. Louis, Mo., Sept. 10, 2018 – Washington University in St. Louis opens College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin (CCIW) play at No. 5-ranked North Central College on Saturday, Sept. 15, at 1 p.m. The Bears had a bye week following a 24-17 win over the University of Chicago in the 2018 season opener Sept. 1.

WashU (1-0, 0-0 CCIW) at No. 5 North Central (1-0, 0-0 CCIW)
Saturday, Sept. 15, 2018  •  1 p.m. (CT)
Bendetti-Wehrli Stadium (5,500) • Naperville, Ill.

Download the complete WashU game notes by clicking HERE (PDF).

THE SERIES – North Central leads the all-time series with WashU, 4-1. The Bears lone victory against the Cardinals came on Sept. 22, 2007 in Naperville when WashU upset then No. 14 North Central 16-13.

THE COACHES - WashU head coach Larry Kindbom (Kalamazoo, 1974) is in his 30th season at WashU, with a record of 178-114 (.610). His 177 wins rank him as the all-time winningest coach at WashU. Overall, in 36 seasons, Kindbom is 206-144-1 (.588).

North Central head coach Jeff Thorne (Eastern Illinois, 1993) is 29-6 (.829) in his four seasons as a collegiate head coach, all of which have come at North Central. Thorne is the 25th head coach in the history of the program.

BYE WEEK – WashU is 5-9 in games played after a bye week since 2004, and have dropped its last four contests. Last season the Bears suffered a 45-28 loss at then No. 17-ranked Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland.

FISHER HONORED BY CCIW – Junior running back John Fisher was named the CCIW Offensive Player of the Week following his performance in the Bears' 24-17 win over Chicago. Fisher picked up 179 yards of total offense and three touchdowns. He went over the 100-yard plateau for the first time in his career with 119 rushing yards on 19 carries, and also had four catches for 60 yards and a pair of touchdowns.

TEAM CAPTAINS – Four seniors have been elected by the team as captains for the 2018 campaign – Ryan Arthur, Jake Coon, Tom Hutchison and Ben Marcus.